Categories: , ,


Pergamum (also known as Pergamon or Pergamos) was the third of the seven churches to receive a letter from Jesus Christ (Revelation 2.12-17).
The ancient city was built on a huge rocky hill, which towered high above the plain of the Caicus River.
The acropolis of Pergamum has three terraces, an upper, middle and lower one. Most of the ruins on the acropolis today date from the Hellenistic and Roman periods. From 133 B.C. till 129 A.D. Pergamum was the capital of the Roman province of Asia.